Erik Pfeifer makes APB history with Inaugural Title victory in Baku

Germany’s Erik Pfeifer, a two-time AIBA World Championship bronze medallist, was last night crowned the first Super Heavyweight (91+ kg) Champion in the AIBA Pro Boxing (APB) Inaugural Title Match in Baku, Azerbaijan. After eight rounds, the final scorecards read 78:74 across the board in favour of Pfeifer against his opponent, Morocco’s Mohammed Arjaoui. The German becomes the first APB Inaugural Titleholder, as well as the first German Super heavyweight World Champion since Max Schmeling. Both Pfeifer and Arjaoui had won all three of their preliminary bouts coming into the Inaugural Title Match at Baku’s Sarhadchi Complex.

Pfeifer started the contest well, his punches landing more sharply and accurately than his African opponent. Later, Pfeifer’s extra energy and experience saw him outclass his opponent in the final two rounds, as he pulled away on points. In order to officially qualify to compete at Rio 2016, Pfeifer must defend his title in the APB Cycle 1 Title Bout. Doing so, he will automatically be awarded an Olympic quota place as both contenders, Champion and Challenger, earn Olympic quota places. Cycle 1 is scheduled to start in March 2015.

MIDDLE 75 KG. location: Istanbul – The Middleweight division has been one of the most entertaining weight classes in AIBA Pro Boxing (APB) so far, and Istanbul, Turkey was the location for the first Inaugural Title Match which took place between hometown star Adem Kilicci and Russia’s number one seed Artem Chebotarev. Kilicci has been virtually unstoppable throughout his career in the competition so far, and won by scores of 80:72, 78:74, and 78:73. The new Champion won the first six rounds on every scorecard, and though his work dropped off a little towards the end of the fight, his quality was clear throughout, and he was the deserved winner.

Match schedule:

  1. 21:00: Marlo DELGADO (ECU) vs Nickson ABAKA (KEN) W.P (57:57/ 58:56/ 55:59)
  2. 21:30: Hosam ABDIN (EGY) vs Dmytro MYTROFANOV (UKR) W.P. (56:58/ 56:58/ 58:56)
  3. 22:00: Michel TAVARES (FRA) W.P. (57:57/ 59:55/ 57:57) vs Bogdan JURATONI (ROM)
  4. 22:30: Adem KILICCI (TUR) W.P. (80:72/ 78:74/ 79:73) APB Inaugural Champion vs Artem CHEBOTAREV (RUS)


WELTER 69 KG  – Location: Baku – Onur SIPAL (TUR), following in the footsteps of compatriot and fellow titleholder Adem Kilicci, faced Kenya’s Rayton Okwiri in Baku in a rematch of an earlier APB match which was won by the Turkish fighter. Sipal was performing at a different level to his African opponent though, and the now 4-0 APB superstar reasserted his control of the bout in the fifth and sixth rounds, which meant that Okwiri would need a knockout to win the Title. Kenya’s new hero tried his very best to achieve that in the seventh round, and he gave himself hope by winning the round across the board, and taking the contest into a final frame. The new Turkish Champion kept his focus in the last round, winning it on two scorecards, and displaying his boxing skills which have enabled him to remain undefeated in the competition.

Match schedule:

  1. 19:30: Gyula KATE (HUN) W.O. vs Marcos NADER (AUT) (Exhibition Match: Gyula Kate (HUN) W.P. (60:54/ 60:54/ 60:54) vs Onder SIPAL (TUR))
  2. 20:00: Denys LAZAREV (UKR) vs Andrei ZAMKOVOY (RUS) W.P. (54:60/ 55:59/ 56:58)
  3. 20:30: Eimantas STANIONIS (LTU) W.P. (59:55/ 59:55/ 59:55) vs Tamerlan ABDULLAYEV (AZE)
  4. 21:00: Onur SIPAL (TUR) W.P. (78:74/ 78:74/ 78:74) APB Inaugural Champion vs Rayton OKWIRI (KEN)

About AIBA Pro Boxing (APB)

The competition started with the APB official draw on 17 September 2014 in Almaty, Kazakhstan. It decided the match-up for the APB Pre-Ranking Phase in each weight category. This Pre-Ranking Phase established the Official APB Pre-Ranking which is the basis for the match-up for the APB Ranking Phase that started in December 2014.

The APB Inaugural Title Matches take place from 23 January to 19 February 2015 and determine the first APB Champion per weight category. Starting from Cycle 1 scheduled for March 2015, all cycles will conclude with a Title Match in which the ‘Challenger’ (the winner of Rounds 1 & 2 of the current cycle) competes against the current APB Champion (the winner of the previous cycle’s Title Match). The winner of a cycle’s Title Match will then be the new APB Champion for the following cycle.

In order to officially qualify to compete at Rio 2016, all APB Champions must defend their titles in the APB Cycle 1 Title Bouts. Doing so, they will automatically be awarded an Olympic quota place as both contenders, Champion and Challenger, earn Olympic quota places.

APB Pre-Ranking Phase: Round 1: 24 Oct 2014 – 1 Nov 2014 (bouts of 6 rounds/3 minutes) Round 2: 21 Nov 2014 – 30 Nov 2014 (bouts of 6 rounds/3 minutes) APB Ranking Phase: Round 3/Matches for Champions: 12 Dec 2014 – 15 Jan 2015 (bouts of 6 rounds/3 minutes) APB Inaugural Title Matches: 23 Jan 2015 – 19 Feb 2015 (bouts of 6 rounds/3 minutes, title bouts will have 8 rounds/3 minutes)